SFB 1313 Newsletter 2024 #8

30 August 2024



Upcoming Events | Sep - Oct 2024

- 12 and 20 Sep 2024: Science Colloquium "Hydromechanics"
- 3 to 24 Oct 2024: InterPore Course "<u>PORE 2-4</u> <u>Capillarity in porous media at different scales</u>", Mondays & Thursdays from 4 to 6 pm CET, with SFB 1313 external partner and Mercator Fellow <u>Majid</u> <u>Hassanizadeh</u>



Congratulations

Milestone Presentation

Call for Participation | Sep 2024

SFB 1313 likes to participate in the <u>DAAD Program "RISE</u> <u>Germany"</u> and invites SFB 1313 doctoral students to offer internships for students from abroad.

New Position | Sep 2024

SFB 1313 project leader <u>Alexander Schlaich</u> (CO1) will be leaving the University of Stuttgart and start a <u>new position</u> <u>as a W3 professor</u> at the Hamburg University of Technology. Congratulations to this huge success!

Milestone Presentation | Sep 2024

SFB 1313 doctoral researcher <u>Paula Strohbeck</u> (A03) will give her <u>Milestone Presentation</u> on 6 September 2024 at 11 am.



Research Fellowship & New Position | Sep 2024

Our SFB 1313 postdoctoral researcher <u>Felix Weinhardt</u> (B05) receives a <u>Feodor Lynen Research Fellowship for Postdocs</u> from the Humboldt Foundation. Congratulations for this huge success! Furthermore, he will start a new postdoc position at the "Centre for Environmental Research" of the Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research on 1 October 2024.



SimTech

Doctoral Thesis Defense | Jul 2024

Our SFB 1313 associated member <u>Christoph Lohrmann</u> successfully defended his <u>doctoral thesis</u> on 2 July 2024. Congratulations!

New Task | Jun 2024

Award | Jun 2024

Our SFB 1313 project leader <u>Miriam Schulte (D02</u>) has been elected to join the <u>SimTech spokesperson team</u>. Congratulations!





SFB 1313 doctoral researcher <u>Benjamin Bursik</u> (A01) participated in the 33rd European Symposium on Applied Thermodynamics 2024. He and his team won the <u>Helmut</u> <u>Knapp poster award</u> for their scientific poster "Dynamic Contact Angles from Hydrodynamic Density Functional Theory". Congratulations!

Past Events | Apr to Jun 2024

- 24 to 27 June: <u>Summer School "Adaptive methods</u> and a posteriori error estimation", University of Hasselt, organized by SFB 1313 researcher <u>Sorin Pop</u>
- 10 to 14 June: <u>SFB 1313 Mini Symposium</u> <u>"Mathematics of Porous Media" at the Equadiff</u> <u>Conference</u>, Karlstad University, organized by our SFB 1313 researchers <u>Christian Rohde</u> and <u>Sorin</u> <u>Pop</u>
- 8 June: Tag der Wissenschaft, University of Stuttgart
- 25 April: <u>Girls' Day Workshop</u>

SFB 1313 Publications

by

- Sebastian B. Wachsmann, <u>Matthias Ruf</u>, Carsten Prinz, Nina Oehlsen, Xiaoru Zhou, Michael Dyballa, Christine Arweiler, Philip Leistner, <u>Holger Steeb</u>, Harald Garrecht, Sabine Laschat, Linus Stegbauer
- <u>Dongwon Lee, Matthias Ruf, Nikolaos Karadimitriou,</u> <u>Holger Steeb</u>, Mary Manousidaki, Emmanouil A Varouchakis, Stelios Tzortzakis, Andreas Yiotis

Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication
Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication	Publication

• Huhao Gao, Hiwa Abdullah, Alexandru-Bogdan Tatomir, <u>Nikolaos Karadimitriou, Holger Steeb</u>, Dejian Zhou, Quan Liu, Martin Sauter